Seven years on – how blogging changed my life

Back in 2010, I was in a session with my coach talking about my future goals and aspirations. We talked about my love of writing and Liza challenged me to put my writing out there in public view: the thought of writing a book was too big a goal at the time and so I committed to starting a blog.

A few weeks elapsed and I’d done nothing. Then we went away to the Lake District, the scene of many of my happiest holidays. I wrote last week that I often do a lot of thinking whilst walking  and this holiday was no exception. Thoughts and ideas began to surface and one night whilst lying awake, my blog name and my first post came together in my mind.

If you’ve never read it, it’s here: Why ‘Turning over pebbles’?

Three hundred and twenty-six posts later, here I am. Why do I write? One of the main reasons is to taste life twice – firstly, in the moment and later, to capture the essence of that moment so I can reflect on it, learn from it, celebrate it. It would seem that it’s not just good for my mind: this weekend, Marianne Power wrote in The Daily Telegraph about the surprising health benefits of journaling.

Another reason I write is to share what I have learnt with you: I am a great believer that we can benefit from each other’s experiences. Through this blog, I have met new friends, gained new clients, had some interesting debates, been invited to contribute to other publications and learnt a great deal about myself and coaching. My life is richer for writing on this blog.

Is writing a weekly blog post easy? Not always. Is it worth it? Every single time.

My very first pebble – the question I pose each week for you to ponder on – is one that’s worth asking again.

procrastination avoidance cocahing questions

Today’s pebble for your thoughts: what are you putting off? 

Whether you’ve been reading my blog for seven years, seven months or this is the very first post you’ve ever read, thank you for being here.

Michelle

Turning over pebbles is the blog of Thinking Space Coaching. 

If you’d like to make progress in your work and life, why not email me to see how we could work together?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

