You’ll never get anything done if you don’t do this

Picture this.

As I’m falling asleep one night, I think to myself ‘I must do the washing tomorrow’ and decide I’ll do it first thing before work.

Next morning, I sort the washing into lights, darks, and delicates.

I carry the first load downstairs to the washing machine.

I place the clothes in the washing machine.

I shut the door firmly.

I add the detergent to the dispensing drawer.

I turn the dial to the correct programme on the washing machine.

I walk away.

I return a couple of hours later, ready to go and hang out the washing on the line in the garden.

I see that nothing’s happened: the dirty clothes are still dirty clothes.

What’s gone wrong?

And then I realise exactly what’s happened.

Without this, nothing happens

Without this, nothing happens

I didn’t press ‘start‘.

I’ve worked with a lot of people who have some audacious goals, some fantastic intentions and some marvellous plans. Many of those people have gone on to make them a reality. Some of them haven’t.

For the majority of those who haven’t been able to realise their goals, the most common reason is that they just didn’t get going. For one reason or another, they didn’t press ‘start‘.

It seems so obvious but if we never start, we can never finish.

Starting to work towards a degree in Law doesn’t mean you have to take the final exams today; perhaps the first step is to find out whether your current qualifications would be sufficient or if you need to take some additional courses.

Starting your own business doesn’t mean you have to win Entrepreneur of the Year this year; maybe the first step is to check out your competition and clarify what you will offer.

Starting to train for a marathon when your longest run so far is a 5k doesn’t mean you have to go out and run a half marathon next Saturday; perhaps the first step is to work towards a 10k race.

We’ve probably all heard the Lao Tzu quote ‘A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.’ Without that first step, that starting point, nothing will ever happen.

Today’s pebble for you to ponder: So you have a goal: have you pressed ‘start’?

What do you think?
Michelle

Turning over pebbles is the blog of Thinking Space Coaching. 

If you’d like someone to help you get started so that you can make progress in your work and life, email me and let’s have a conversation about how we can work together.

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

