What’s next?

Being totally engaged with the present moment is important to me. Whether it’s practising some very simple mindfulness or being in flow, I am more fulfilled when I’m not rushing ahead, whether that’s physically or mentally, to the next thing.

However, we do need to spend some time thinking about the future and that’s something I do a lot with my coaching clients. There are several ways in which we do this but one of my favourite is a very simple one and, inspired by the late Shane J Lopez of Hopemonger.com, I call it ‘nexting’. Unlike texting, it’s perfectly legal to do it anywhere!

It’s just three simple questions:

What’s the next thing you’re looking forward to?

Whose support do you need to make it happen?

What’s the first step you’re going to take?

This isn’t specifically a goal-setting technique, although it can be used that way. I guess I’d call it a ‘hope-setting’ technique, encouraging a focus on an anticipated positive experience in the future. It works well in a work setting with direct reports but is equally good for conversations with friends or family: some of my clients have reported back that they have used it with their children very successfully. It can help us get ‘unstuck‘ and it can help us turn ideas into actions.

nexting

Today’s pebble for you to ponder: would it help you or someone you know to do a bit of ‘nexting’?

What do you think?
Michelle

Turning over pebbles is the blog of Thinking Space Coaching. 

If you’d like to make progress in your work and life, email me and let’s have a conversation about how we can work together.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s next?

  1. I find it very difficult to “live for the moment” and I also struggle with worrying about the future. I think having three articulated questions to break down and commence working towards a goal or event is a great skill to have. Also, I am now completely in love with the word “nexting”. X

    http://battlingaverages.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

