One hundred days

‘When you interview for a new job, they often ask you what you’d do in the first hundred days,’ said my client – let’s call him Phil. ‘Now I’m about to resign and I’m on three months’ notice, I’d like to think about what I want to do in the last hundred days.’

I was intrigued so I asked him to tell me a little more.

‘Well, this company’s been good to me and I want to make sure that I leave my team and my projects in the best shape possible. We’ve had our tough times but I want to feel that I’ve gone out on a high. I want to look back at my time with them and be proud of what I’ve achieved and the legacy I’m leaving behind.’

With that in mind, Phil chose his three key areas of focus – his team, his projects and his handover – and we spent his session setting goals for the last hundred days of his time with the company. He committed to some daily, weekly and monthly action points and identified whose help he would need in order to achieve them.

You may not be on the point of resigning and even if you are, you may be on one week’s notice or six months’ notice, so you may be wondering how this post relates to you.

Well, this post is published on Friday 16 September 2016. On Thursday 22 September, there will be one hundred days of this year left. Rather than spring this on you, I thought I’d give you a few days to contemplate that fact and decide what you might like to achieve in the remainder of this year. Whether it’s a huge goal or a small goal, whether it’s to do with work or family, all of us can probably think of something that we’d like to look back on with satisfaction by the end of the year.

days dates goals reflection questions achievement

Today’s pebble for you to ponder: what will you achieve in the final one hundred days of 2016?

What do you think?

Michelle

Turning over pebbles is the blog of Thinking Space Coaching. 

If you’d like someone to help you achieve your goals for the next hundred days and beyond, why not email me to see how we can work together?

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

