I can and I will – Nadiya Jamir Hussain

After last week’s post about Scott Dinsmore, a couple of my coaching clients emailed me to tell me how they’d been inspired by Nadiya Jamir Hussain. Nadiya is the 2015 winner of BBC’s Great British Bake Off 2015 and in the last episode of the series, she showed us why it is that the British public have come to love this unassuming woman who is a dab hand in the kitchen.

Throughout the series, she’s made us laugh with her dry, self-deprecating sense of humour and her incredible facial expressions. Nadiya applauded other’s efforts, helped out her fellow competitors, and remained confident in her bakes when others took a different direction. She had some difficult moments early on in the competition but she picked herself up, gave herself a good talking to and carried on. Her bakes were inspired by her family and it was clear that their support was her motivation. She made us laugh, she made us cry and she made us want to eat more cake!

Nadiya made a blue peacock from chocolate, a snake from bread and a self-supporting fizzy drink can above a 3 tier cheesecake! No ordinary baker, Nadiya demonstrated her knowledge, skill and her lack of fear of doing things a little bit differently as she flavoured a bake with bubble gum and cream soda and melted massive marshmallows to made fondant.

Her final show-stopping bake had to be a traditional British cake. She made the wedding cake she’d never had, calling it My Big Fat British Wedding Cake: a three-tiered lemon drizzle cake, simply iced in white fondant and adorned with the jewels from her wedding and the cake stand wrapped in a red, white and blue sari. It was not only elegant (and apparently delicious) but it told us a story about her too.

Her comments after winning will stay with me for a long time: ‘I’m never going to put boundaries on myself again. I’m never going to say “I can’t do it”. I’m never going to say “maybe”. I’m never going to say “I don’t think I can”. I can and I will.’

DussehrA (1)

With those comments, Nadiya completely smashes her limiting beliefs.

To many people, GBBO is ‘just a cooking show’. To me, I see twelve people going to incredible lengths to do something they are passionate about. Sixteen thousand people applied to be on the show last year: every single person who finds themselves in that tent is already pretty special. For me, Nadiya embodies the qualities you need for success: natural talent, self-awareness and determination to do the work.

Today’s pebble for your thoughts: what could you achieve if you could say to yourself ‘I can and I will’?

What do you think?

Michelle

ps if you’d like someone to help you smash your limiting beliefs and achieve your goals, why not email me to see how we could work together?

Turning over pebbles is the blog of Thinking Space Coaching. 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I can and I will – Nadiya Jamir Hussain

  1. Pingback: Confidence crushed? | Turning over pebbles

Leave a Reply

