The sixth sense

Don’t worry, my cinematic viewing is not so far behind the times that I’ve only just caught up with the 1999 movie of the same name!

I like to think of my intuition as my sixth sense. Like a wine expert trains her palate to better evaluate flavours, I have worked hard to develop my intuition, particularly in my work as a coach. The definition of the word ‘intuition’ in the Oxford English Dictionary is: ‘Immediate insight or understanding without conscious reasoning.’ We could all use more insight or understanding, couldn’t we?

Some may feel that intuition is unreliable. Aren’t most of our senses like that? If I season a soup to my taste, I can’t guarantee that you will perceive the flavour in exactly the same way and enjoy it. If we both write down what we see from this window right now, will our descriptions be identical?

Others may say that intuition is unscientific. I can’t disagree with you there. However, one of our greatest scientists, Albert Einstein said this:

‘The intuitive mind is a sacred gift and the rational mind is a faithful servant. We have created a society that honors the servant and has forgotten the gift.’

The intuitive mind is a sacred gift and the rational mind is a faithful servant. We have created a society that honors the servant and has forgotten the gift

His words reassure me that I’m in good company when I honour my intuition!

It is true that our intuition is not always correct: neither is every rational, thought-through decision we ever make. When I want to use my intuition in a coaching session, when I’m sensing something I can’t quite explain as I listen to my client, I introduce my intuitive thought carefully and name it as ‘just a thought/my gut feeling/my instinct’ or something similar. Intuition has led to some powerful and meaningful discoveries for clients.

My clients and I have also discussed how we can use our intuition to enhance our decision-making, our conversations and our plans and concluded that a balance of intuition and rational thought is often the most effective route to choose.

Today’s pebble for you to ponder: how could combining the sacred gift of intuition and the faithful servant of your rational mind work for you?

What do you think?

Michelle

Turning over pebbles is the blog of Thinking Space Coaching. 

If you’d like to take action and create positive change in your work and life, why not email me to see how we could work together?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The sixth sense

  1. Pingback: Confidence crushed? | Turning over pebbles

Leave a Reply

