Should you rush past problems?

Einstein wisdom problems solutions smart

‘It’s not that I’m so smart, it’s just that I say with problems longer’ – Einstein

It may be arrogant of me to want to disagree with Einstein but I think that most of us would probably suggest that he was rather more intelligent that your average man in the street.

However, he does have a point. These days, life moves so fast that we can be tempted to throw up our hands in exasperation and give up at the first sign of difficulty. However, it seems that a bit of resilience and determination can go a long way.

It takes resilience to keep on applying for a job in times of recession; it takes determination to keep dusting off your business plan to submit it to yet another bank to get a loan; it takes grit to keep on keeping on whilst you try to solve a tricky issue; it takes discipline to run home instead of catching the bus.

A client of mine was telling me that she’d been struggling with her plan for a new project at work. ‘It’s coming up to Christmas and everyone’s busy, I can’t seem to get time with the people I need, I just don’t have the inspiration to be able to fix this.’ I asked her how important the project was to her – ‘oh, it’s really important, I know that, but I’ve just run out of steam.’ With her permission, I took her through the Cartesian Questions which helped her get fresh perspective and she’s back on task now.

Maybe Cartesian Questions aren’t the right thing for you right now; perhaps you could try the 900 seconds technique and stay with the problem just a little longer, or maybe there’s something else you can try.

Today’s pebble for your thoughts:

Rather than move on to the next thing, how will you stay with your problem longer and push through to a solution?

If you need someone to cheer you on, you know where I am,

Michelle

Turning over pebbles is the blog of Thinking Space Coaching. 

If you’d like to take action and create positive change in your work and life, why not email me to see how we could work together?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

