Thoughts on thanks

I bought this card earlier this year …

Start each day with a grateful heart gratitude thankful

Start each day with a grateful heart

..and I have that picture of it on my phone to remind me that gratitude is a good way to start the day.

Then I read this quote –

“Silent gratitude isn’t very much to anyone.” Gertrude Stein

In a coaching session, Anna and I were discussing how grateful she felt for some opportunities she had been given and the support she’d received from both her team and her friends. With that Stein quotation in mind, I asked her how she was thinking of expressing her gratitude. We bounced a few different ideas around and in the end, she settled for what she described as ‘the good old-fashioned thank you note’. Anna decided to buy some cards, set aside some time and write a personalised note for each person. As a grateful recipient, I can tell you how much I appreciated the time and effort that she had put into the process and that her kind words have stayed with me long after she sent the card. Anna tells me that the process helped keep fresh in her mind the support she’d received and how much it had meant to her and has encouraged her to offer more help and guidance to others. Expressing her gratitude has created a virtuous circle.

Today’s pebble for you to consider:

How will you express your gratitude this week?

What do you think?

Michelle

Turning over pebbles is the blog of Thinking Space Coaching. 

If you’d like to take action and create positive change in your work and life, why not email me to see how we could work together?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

