How high will you bounce?

I was talking with a client the other day about those popular buzzwords in business at the moment – ‘flexibility’ and ‘agility’. Peter* commented that whilst those were all very well, what underpinned those qualities so essential in business and in life was ‘resilience’ and I have to agree.

The Oxford Dictionary defines ‘resilience’ thus:

1          The ability of a substance or object to spring back into shape; elasticity:

2          The capacity to recover quickly from difficulties; toughness

Peter’s had what he described as ‘an interesting few months’. He said that the goalposts have been moved so many times, they must have been fitted with wheels to make it easier! However, he demonstrates an incredible resilience – he definitely possesses  ‘the capacity to recover quickly from difficulties’. I asked him what his secret was. ‘Alamo,’ he replied.

‘Alamo?’ I queried, frantically flipping through my mental filing cabinet to see if I knew anything at all about the Battle of the Alamo. Nothing. ‘Tell me more about that.’

‘I just read this book called Business Genius and the author talked about Alamo: Accept, Learn And Move On. I can choose to wallow in feeling sorry for myself and mope around or I can accept what’s going on, learn what I can, pick myself up and have another go. It reminds me of that song ‘I get knocked down but I get up again. You’re never gonna keep me down,’ Peter grinned.

The US general, George Patton said this:

“I don’t measure a man’s success by how high he climbs but how high he bounces when he hits bottom.”

I love the simplicity of ‘Alamo’ – easy to remember and a simple way to remind ourselves that whilst we may not be able to choose the situations in which we find ourselves, we can choose our response. We can help ourselves bounce back.

Today’s pebble for you: Can ‘Alamo’ help you to plot your way out of a tricky situation? What other tactics will you use to make sure you bounce back higher and better than before?

What do you think?

Michelle

* As usual, I have changed my client’s name and share this story with permission.

Turning over pebbles is the blog of Thinking Space Coaching. 

If you’d like to take action and create positive change in your work and life, why not email me to see how we could work together?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to How high will you bounce?

  1. Pingback: Should you rush past problems? | Turning over pebbles

  2. Pingback: How to make 2015 your best year yet | Turning over pebbles

  3. Pingback: What would Tigger do? | Turning over pebbles

Leave a Reply

