Why I write

This is my two hundredth post on this blog. People sometimes asks me what motivates me to write and I have never found a better way of explaining it than these beautiful words of Anaïs Nin:

 ‘We write to taste life twice, in the moment, and in retrospection. … We write to teach ourselves to speak with others, to record the journey into the labyrinth.’

The Diary of Anaïs Nin, Vol. 5

‘To taste life twice’ is such an elegant way of saying ‘to allow me to reflect on who I am, what I do, where I’m going’. As I record my journey through the labyrinth of life, I learn more about myself. Writing is an important part of my coaching practice as well as being an important part of my life.

Notebooks journals reflection remember write

Just a few of the notebooks filled with my thoughts

I write to mark milestones, learn from mistakes, track progress, celebrate successes but mostly to remember and reflect. I write this blog to share some of those reflections with you and hopefully provoke you to think a little more deeply about your own personal and professional development.

When I’m working with coaching clients, I encourage them to discover their own method of reflection. Some choose to write, some choose photography, some make video or audio recordings, some use apps. They comment that they have found it challenging, encouraging, an aid to staying on track, motivating, interesting, provoking and fulfilling. Whichever method they use, they are ‘tasting life twice’.

 Today’s pebble for you to ponder:

 What method will you use to enable you to taste life twice?

Michelle

Turning over pebbles is the blog of Thinking Space Coaching. 

If you’d like to make progress in your work and life, why not email me to see how we could work together?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Why I write

  1. Liza Hughes says:

    Congratulations Michelle!!! I remember the very first post and have enjoyed exploring your many pebbles with you. Have a great weekend!

  2. Ursula Morgan says:

    Thank you Michelle for speaking to us. It is much appreciated that you make us slow down and take stock!
    “We write to teach ourselves to speak with others”

  3. Barbara Rogers says:

    This is a special one! Tasting life twice! It seems to go so fast that to experience some of it again is a heart joy thing. I did this today by reading some of my list of a thousand gifts over and my mind was full of pictures and smells and I remembered the joy feeling and thanked again.

    • It’s so lovely, isn’t it, to enjoy something in the the moment when it happens and then again in reflection and grateful remembrance. Thank you so much for commenting.

  4. Pingback: Seven years on – how blogging changed my life | Turning over pebbles

Leave a Reply

