I did run, run, run; I did run, run – limiting belief smashed!

Remember this post from a couple of months ago?

For several years now, I’ve told myself ‘I can’t run.’ I gave it a go several years ago after my husband successfully completed the couch to 5k programme: he has gone on to run half marathons, I was a miserable failure. You may argue that I wasn’t a failure, I just hadn’t succeeded yet, but I was definitely miserable!

Well, I am extremely happy to be able to tell you that at 6.20am on Saturday 12 July 2014, I smashed the limiting belief that ‘I can’t run’ by completing my first 5k run. I even had a little celebration to mark the occasion:

Just a small celebration!

Just a small celebration!

What helped me achieve my goal?

A great plan – the couch to 5k programme is tried and tested.

Accountability – using the Zenlab’s couch to 5k app provided this, as did lots of you by asking me how it was going on a regular basis

Support and encouragement – from my husband, from the couch to 5k community on Facebook, from you

Determination – I was ready to do this. I’d become fed up by the limiting effect of this false belief and the thought of not tackling it finally y seemed worse than the physical effort required to tackle it. I’d love to tell you that I breezed through every session without a hair out of place but that wasn’t the case: it was hard work but I am so happy I pushed through it.

Today I am delighted to be able to say: ‘you know what, I can run’.

In light of that, I’m going to ask you the same question I did eight weeks ago.

Today’s pebble for you to examine: is there a limiting belief you’d like to challenge? What’s the first step towards that?

What do you think?

Michelle

ps if you’d like to someone to run alongside you on whilst you smash through your limiting beliefs, do email me to see how we can work together.

Turning over pebbles is the blog of Thinking Space Coaching.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I did run, run, run; I did run, run – limiting belief smashed!

  1. Ursula Morgan says:

    You have got me. I am going to attempt a proper head stand. I have convinced myself since childhood that this is impossible. At my yoga class every week every spectrum of age and fitness try and achieve. I have half achieved only. I will keep you informed of my effort.

    • You can do it, Ursula! Remember Mel W’s aerobics classes all those years ago? That was when I first met you. I look forward to hearing that you’ve done that headstand!

  2. Lucy says:

    Well done. A huge goal reached, you must be really proud.

Leave a Reply

