Lagom – or are you expert enough?

Here’s the latest addition to my wall of inspiration:

Expert enough

The Expert Enough manifesto reminded me of a Swedish word I heard about: ‘lagom’. Like the Danish word ‘hygge’, it’s a word that’s difficult to translate. Like the little bear’s porridge, ‘lagom’ is just right. Lagom is not too much, not too little, not excessive or extreme in any way.

The Expert Enough manifesto expresses this concept of ‘lagom’ to me. It says you don’t have to be the best in the world at one particular thing but that it’s a positive trait to be good at lots of things. I truly believe that comparison is the thief of joy (thank you, Theodore Roosevelt) and that each of us has the potential for brilliance within us. I love the fact that this manifesto encourages us to take responsibility for our own learning and development. Like many of my coaching clients, I don’t want a life of relentless striving towards being the world’s greatest expert at one thing – I want a life of discovery, creativity and excellence. How about you?

Today’s pebble for you to consider: are you striving for perfection or are you expert enough? Are you lagom?

What do you think?
Michelle

Turning over pebbles is the blog of Thinking Space Coaching. 

If you’d like to make progress in your work and life, why not email me to see how we could work together?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Lagom – or are you expert enough?

  1. Jane says:

    Thanks for this really interesting post. With my interests and hobbies, my partner describes me as a “craft butterfly” I am always flitting from one thing to the next, trying things. I sometimes wish I could concentrate more on one thing and get really good. This post has made me think about this more positively, I am exploring, playing and making myself happy. I don’t need to feel bad for not settling for one thing. Why is it we always want to be what we are not, rather than embracing what we are? Thank you!

    • Good point, Jane: the butterflies in my garden this morning seem to be fluttering from one flower to the next, taking just what they need from each one. Explore, grow, enjoy! Thanks for commenting.

  2. queenyb83 says:

    This is my fav blog to date. Love the sentiment. Take the pressure off yourself and just go have fun doing something that you want to do!

  3. Pingback: Would you aim to be a zero? | Turning over pebbles

  4. Pingback: How do you define success? | Turning over pebbles

Leave a Reply

