Just do run run run, just do run run (or ‘how I’m smashing my limiting belief one step at a time’)

For several years now, I’ve told myself ‘I can’t run.’ I gave it a go several years ago after my husband successfully completed the couch to 5k programme: he has gone on to run half marathons, I was a miserable failure. You may argue that I wasn’t a failure, I just hadn’t succeeded yet, but I was definitely miserable!

Rather than tell myself ‘I don’t run or even ‘I won’t run’, I’d chosen to tell myself ‘I can’t run’. This clearly isn’t true. I’ll always run for a bus if it saves me waiting another few minutes. If I were in a dangerous situation, I like to think my ‘fight or flight’ instincts would kick in and I’d leg it out of there. However, my mind still said ‘I can’t run.’.

This is a perfect example of a limiting belief. Perhaps you have some of your own. They often start with phrases like ‘I’m just no good at … ‘ or ‘I could never …’

I’ve had enough of my limiting belief – particularly as it’s not even based on fact – so I decided to challenge it and start the couch to 5k again last week. I know many of you are very successful runners and so I’m slightly embarrassed by the fact that I have to start off by running for 60 seconds, walking for 90 seconds several times over but I’ve decided not to ‘despise the day of small beginnings’ and just get on with it. Even telling you that this is what I’ve decided to do is pretty scary – putting my goal out there in the public domain feels a bit risky!

However, the embarrassment and fear isn’t enough to quash my desire to smash this limiting belief. I’m tying up the laces on these alarmingly pink shoes and getting on with it.

Putting my feet up after week one, session two

Putting my feet up after week one, session two

I think that the added accountability of having told you about my goal will help keep me on track – feel free to ask me how it’s going.

Today’s pebble for you to examine: is there a limiting belief you’d like to challenge? What’s the first step towards that?

What do you think?

Michelle

ps if you’d like to someone to cheer you on whilst you smash through your limiting beliefs, do email me to see how we can work together.

Turning over pebbles is the blog of Thinking Space Coaching. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Just do run run run, just do run run (or ‘how I’m smashing my limiting belief one step at a time’)

  1. Sam says:

    Woohoo 😀 LOVE THIS

  2. Pingback: I did run, run, run; I did run, run – limiting belief smashed! | Turning over pebbles

  3. Pingback: I can and I will – Nadiya Jamir Hussain | Turning over pebbles

  4. Pingback: Would Shakespeare have made a good coach? | Turning over pebbles

  5. Pingback: Confidence crushed? | Turning over pebbles

Leave a Reply

