Time to recombobulate?

You know in films, you sometimes see a stylish woman strolling through an airport, wearing a big straw hat with a chiffon scarf tied elegantly around it, sunglasses in one hand, tiny bag in the other?

I don’t look like that when I travel. I’m often shod in my walking boots to save weight in my case and probably wearing a couple too many layers to save space in my hand luggage – a rucksack which just fits within the airline’s acceptable dimensions and weighs a tonne but I am making it look really, really light so it doesn’t end up being consigned to the hold.

Then I go through security. Boots off, belt, keys, money, phone, sometimes even earrings go into the little tray and on the conveyor belt, along with my jacket which I struggle out of as I put my rucksack on the conveyor belt too. By the time I’m through the security gate, and especially if I get chosen for a pat down, I’m a bit flustered and desperately trying to grab all my possessions as quickly as possible, get out of other people’s way and find somewhere to sort myself out. Audrey Hepburn I am not.

Discombobulated’ –  feeling flustered, confused, agitated, discomfited, befuddled – sums it up perfectly.

You can imagine how I felt when a friend sent me this picture:

What we all need: a recombobulation area!(I don't know who originally took this photo: if you do, please let me know so I can credit it accordingly)

Fab idea: a recombobulation area!

Apparently this ‘recombobulation area’ is at an airport in Milwaukee and it’s just some chairs and tables. That’s all I need:  somewhere to sit down and sort myself out before moving on.

Today’s pebble for you to consider: do you need to create a ‘recombobulation area’ for yourself this week so you can take a few minutes to sit down, calm down and gather your thoughts before you move on?

What do you think?

Michelle

Turning over pebbles is the blog of Thinking Space Coaching.

If you’d like to make progress in your work and life, why not email me to see how we could work together?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Time to recombobulate?

  1. R says:

    I love the idea of recombobulation!! Even thinking about it makes me smile, thank you!! :o)

Leave a Reply

