A daring adventure

‘Avoiding danger is no safer in the long run than outright exposure. Life is either a daring adventure or nothing.’ Helen Keller

A few years ago, I read about Go Ape – an amazing treetop rope course with the strapline ‘live life adventurously’. As living life adventurously is our idea of fun, my husband and I decided to try it out whilst we were on holiday in the Lake District. You spend a couple of hours admiring amazing scenery from your vantage point in the trees as you make your way through the forest via high wires, bridges, suspended tunnels and amazing zip wires. You even have the chance to unleash your inner Tarzan by jumping off a platform clinging onto a rope and swinging into a huge cargo net.

I don’t like heights but I hate missing out on adventure even more so I was determined to take every opportunity that Go Ape offered. They’ve set up the course so that you can miss out the Tarzan Swing if you’d rather but I wanted to push myself to do it. I was wearing a harness so there was no way that I could fall – logically I knew this but even so, jumping off a platform into mid-air was a daunting prospect.

After a demonstration by (and some stirring motivational talk from) my super-patient husband, I stood on that platform, held on to the rope with all my might and took the plunge. The swing was over in seconds – the adrenalin rush lasted a lot longer! Thinking about that first step off the platform was a lot scarier than actually doing it.

Recently, two of my friends have taken a big decision – in different ways, they have chosen to step away from something comfortable and to step towards a risk. In each case, they have their own version of a harness which they know will stop them from falling but they have each faced up to the scary prospect of moving away from the known and into the unknown. They are amazing people and I’m proud to count them as my friends and privileged to have them as role models.

In both cases, they told me that the ‘playing it safe’ option didn’t make sense to them in their situation any more. Taking the risk, pushing out the boundaries of their world and widening their experiences makes more sense to them.

So today’s pebble is this: is it time for you to embark on a daring adventure?

What do you think?

Michelle

Turning over pebbles is the blog of Thinking Space Coaching.

If you’d like to make progress in your work and life, why not email me to see how we could work together?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A daring adventure

  1. John Bayer says:

    I think this is the key to being fully alive. The trick is knowing the difference between real risk and imagined risk. So often I find I don’t do something because of the ‘what ifs?’ when in reality these ‘what ifs’ are very unlikely or actually ‘so what ifs?’ So what if I fall flat on my face? So what if I don’t succeed as I hope? I don’t stop to ask what is the real risk. Just one of wounded pride perhaps? And I wonder why I never ask what if I don’t take this risk? Maybe there’s an adrenaline rush or equivalent out there that I would miss.

Leave a Reply

