Making a difference

I rescued a bird yesterday. I think it was a young blackbird, although it should be said that my bird recognition skills aren’t great. As I fetched food for the chickens, I was aware of the sound of frantic flapping in a coppiced hazel. Peering amongst the branches, I saw the fledgling was trapped by his leg and hanging upside down. It was clear he’d been there for some time.

Squeezing in between the branches, I reached out to try to take hold of him. His flapping was so violent that it made it really difficult to gently grasp him but I finally managed. Holding him as lightly as possible, I had a closer look at how he was trapped and the extent of his injury. I shifted so I could hold him in one hand and part the two branches between which he was stuck and free him. I placed him gently on the ground next to a dish of water. Panting furiously, he drank and then just sat there. I wasn’t sure what else I could do.

Leading away the curious chickens, I retreated to the garden bench to wait and see what would happen next. An older female blackbird whose alarm call I’d noticed earlier flew down with a worm in her mouth for the fledgling and sat beside him as he ate. A few minutes later, he gingerly got to his feet and they flew off together.

It was quite an experience. I’ve never held such a tiny bird before and wanted so much to rescue him without causing any further pain. Watching him regain his vigour and fly off with his mum was a joy. I’m so glad I noticed him and could help him. It was such a simple thing for me to do but it made such a difference to that beautiful bird.

Making a difference is important to me, whether it’s in a small way or a more dramatic way, whether it’s with my friends and family, my colleagues or my coaching clients. I want to notice what it is that I can do to help and then do it.

Today’s pebble for you to consider:
How can you make a difference today?

Michelle

Turning over pebbles is the blog of Thinking Space Coaching.

If you’d like to make progress in your work and life, why not email me to see how we could work together?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making a difference

  1. Barbara says:

    Thoughts on this were running along and it must be amazing to know you set someone free in some way. What a difference that would make! Maybe by not having unreal expectations of them.

Leave a Reply

