STOP in order to move on again

Everyone I talk to is so busy at the moment – in fact, some of them are so busy that they don’t even have time to stop and talk. They just flash a hurried smile on the stairs as we run in opposite directions and sling ‘must catch up’ over their shoulders as they disappear. We’re like a swarm of bees, all busily buzzing.

One of my clients said to me the other day that she’d got to the end of the day and thought ‘well, I know I’ve been busy but what have I actually done? I seem to rush around doing whatever comes to hand and never seem to get to the end of anything.’ Have you ever felt like that?

I’m reading Timothy Gallwey’s ‘The inner game of work’ at the moment and one particular part stood out to me as being relevant to my client’s situation. It’s called STOP.

Sstep

Here, Gallwey suggests that we step off the track for a moment to a place of quietness., whether literal or metaphorical.

Tthink

Gallwey asks us to think ‘What do I really want right now? What’s really important?’

O – organise

Here, we allow ourselves to collect our scattered thoughts, to organise them and create mental coherence.

P – proceed

Once our purpose and the necessary next steps are defined and we’ve regained a sense of being calm and collected, we can step back into the situation and proceed.

We worked through a couple of examples to see how my client could use the technique and she’s trying it out for a few weeks. She tells me she’s stuck ‘stop’ signs in significant places as a visual reminder of the technique. I think that’s a great idea – as a process, STOP is simple but that doesn’t make it easy to apply: we probably need all the reminders we can get.

Today’s pebble for you to stop and consider:

Will you STOP today so that you can move on more effectively?

What do you think?

Michelle

Turning over pebbles is the blog of Thinking Space Coaching.

If you’d like to make progress in your work and life, why not email me to see how we could work together?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to STOP in order to move on again

  1. Soraya says:

    Dear M I am going to start to ‘stop’ right now and drink in some of that lovely sunshine. And proceed with a fresh head after lunch.
    S x

  2. Barbara Rogers says:

    Hello, enjoying thoughts that stretch, thank you! There are seasons in life when STOP is enforced, times when the steps are just as valuable to see still what’s important and valuable and how to move on effectively. B x

Leave a Reply

