Lessons from Lisa Simpson

Would you like to see someone’s face light up with a big smile? Would you like to make a colleague’s day a little brighter? Would it be good to see your friend walk a little taller?

I have found that four short but powerful words sincerely meant can do this.

They’re not ‘you’ve won the lottery’. They’re not ‘have you lost weight?’ or even ‘take the day off’.

What we all need to hear from someone who really knows us, who knows what makes us tick, who knows where we struggle and where we triumph is this –

 I believe in you.

Those four words can spur us on. They can help us move from contemplating an idea to turning into reality. As a coach, I have the privilege of developing a working relationship with my clients in which I get to see them work through their ideas, develop solutions, complete their action plans and fulfil their goals. I have the pleasure of being able to say to them wholeheartedly ‘I believe in you’.

Lisa Simpson can do it –

 “Bart, having never received any words of encouragement myself, I’m not sure how they’re supposed to sound. But here goes: I believe in you.”

– and I can do it: now it’s over to you.

Today’s pebble for you to contemplate – and then act on – is this:

To whom will you sincerely say ‘I believe in you’ this week?

Michelle

ps if you’d like a coach to believe in you as you work through your goals, why not email me to see how we could work together?

Turning over pebbles is the blog of Thinking Space Coaching. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lessons from Lisa Simpson

  1. Pingback: Everyone needs a little encouragement | Turning over pebbles

Leave a Reply

