It’s oh so quiet

It’s funny how often a theme seems to come up in the various conversations I have over several days. This week, it’s been introversion versus extroversion. Is that colleague of yours aloof and standoffish or focused and self-sufficient? Your opinion might be based on whether you are an introvert or an extrovert.

I’m delighted that I work with a lot of amazing extroverted people. I’m very happy too that I work with a lot of fantastic introverted people. I guess you could say that I like working with people! One thing I’ve had to learn though is not to judge extroverts by my introversion and not to feel judged by their extroversion.

I’d like to draw your attention to this TED talk from last year:

Did you recognise yourself? Did you recognise a friend or colleague? It’s important to remember that introverts come in different shapes and sizes. Susan Cain writes in Quiet, “We can’t say that every introvert is a bookworm or every extrovert wears lampshades at parties any more than we can say that every woman is a natural consensus-builder and every man loves contact sports.” Phew, that’s a relief!

This week’s pebble for your thoughts is (this will only make sense after you’ve watched the talk so go on, watch it now!):

What’s in your suitcase and why did you put it there?

What do you think?

Michelle

Turning over pebbles is the blog of Thinking Space Coaching. 

If you’d like to make progress in your work and life, why not email me to see how we could work together?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s oh so quiet

  1. Kirsty says:

    Hi Michelle, this is lovely! Shall we get together for a cuppa soon? Kirsty x

Leave a Reply

