A bit of a birdbrain?

Cornish beach at sunset

A beach to ourselves:
Cornwall in November

Whilst our home county shivered under an early snowfall last week, we were walking on the coastal path in beautiful North Cornwall. It was one of those beautiful November days which is cold but sunny, the sky an astonishing blue. It was pretty windy though on the exposed footpath and a bit muddy in places so a couple of times, I struggled to maintain my footing.

As I slithered along, buffeted by sudden gusts, I was struck by the flight patterns of the vast numbers of birds. Whilst on the ground, they too were clinging on to the cliffs but then would step off into the breeze and soar, seemingly effortlessly.

As far as I could see, the birds weren’t flying because they needed to feed or because they needed to get somewhere else. Silhouetted against the setting sun in beautiful Catherine wheel patterns, they appeared to be swooping and circling simply for the joy of it. We may refer to someone pejoratively as a ‘bit of a birdbrain’ but these birds certainly know how to make the most of a breeze!

Walking along that path, I realised that I could choose to be bothered by my surroundings, feeling hassled about how muddy I was getting and frustrated by the wind hindering my progress or I could choose to accept it and enjoy my walk. I can’t control the weather but I can choose my path. As soon as we turned round, the wind was at our backs and blew us along rather effectively!

Today’s pebble for you to consider:

What one thing, however small, can you do this week to make the situation you’re currently in work for you rather than against you?

What do you think?
Michelle

Turning over pebbles is the blog of Thinking Space Coaching. 

If you’d like to make progress in your work and life, why not email me to see how we could work together?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A bit of a birdbrain?

  1. Bazza Jenks! says:

    It reminds me of that Chinese proverb -“you can’t stop the birds of sorrow flying over your head … but you can stop them nesting in your hair!”
    Baz
    X

Leave a Reply

