Inspired dream or useless idea?

Does everyone who dreams of creating something wonder whether or not anyone else actually needs that creation? What if no-one buys your photographs? What if no-one comes to your café? What if no-one ever reads your book? What if no-one downloads your app?

When I was growing up, the Innovations Catalogue would slip from the Sunday papers, providing us with entertainment as we perused its pages of the latest ‘must have’ inventions. From the mono-slipper into which you placed both feet for extra warmth to the toaster with egg-poaching unit on the side, there was plenty to keep you entertained.

What if my personal project ends up the 21st century equivalent of the mono-slipper? That’s the kind of thought that could keep me awake at night.

Maybe I’m asking the wrong question. Worrying about whether anyone else is ever going to need whatever it is I’m producing is probably the best way to bring that project to a grinding halt.

Maybe a better question is ‘do I need this dream?’ Or how about ‘will my life be richer/fuller/happier if I achieve this?’

If the answer is ‘no’, then I should just stop now and avoid wasting my energy, time and any other resources. If the answer is ‘yes’, then I need to use that to shout down my internal naysayers and pursue my passion.

Today’s pebble for your thoughts:

If you achieve your goal, will your life be richer/fuller/happier?

What do you think?
Michelle

Turning over pebbles is the blog of Thinking Space Coaching. 

If you’d like to make progress in your work and life, why not email me to see how we could work together?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

