Cherish: adorn: construct

Portmeirion is a remarkable Italianate village on the coast of North Wales. If you’ve never seen it, do go and look at the pictures now: it’s not what you expect to find in Wales!

A friend of mine counts Portmeirion as one of her favourite places and mentioned that she’d bought herself a rather splendid mousemat featuring the motto of Portmeirion’s creator, Sir Bertram Clough Williams-Ellis:

Cherish the past

Adorn the present

Construct for the future

If you’ve been thinking seven thoughts over the last seven days, you will have been embracing Clough Williams-Ellis’ philosophy as you reflected on 2011 and planned for 2012. I plan on using the motto to help me consider each day, whether at work or at home, seeing how I can incorporate his instructions in my reflections.

Cherish the past

What was good about yesterday? What didn’t go so well? What did I learn yesterday? What do I want to capture about it? How can I capture it? A photograph? Adding another section to my training notes? Writing in my journal? Discussing it with a colleague? Recording a memo on my phone?

Adorn the present

To me, this means to somehow make today better. Can I add more value to my presentation? Can I go out of my way to encourage someone? Is there something which would improve my physical environment? Can I nip in the bud that problem with my project before it becomes a huge issue? Can I determine to eat something healthy and get some fresh air at lunch rather than working through and grabbing some junk food? Can I give constructive feedback?

Construct for the future

What can I do today that will bring benefits next week/next month/next year? How can I take what I’m learning today and ensure that it’s contributing to what I want to achieve? What steps will I take now to lay the foundations for the future of my family? How does what I do at work today help me develop my career? How can I look after myself today to make sure I’m ready for tomorrow? What do I need to put down today in order to pick up something else next week?

So today’s pebble for you to contemplate is this:

How can you cherish the past, adorn the present and construct the future?

Do let me know what you think,

Michelle

Turning over pebbles is the blog of Thinking Space Coaching. 

If you’d like to make progress in your work and life, why not email me to see how we can work together?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

