Permission granted

You’ve probably noticed that I love goals and targets and striking off items on my to do list. I like to make progress and to learn new stuff. Sometimes though, I just want to do something else entirely.

I want to take a lunch break.
I want to go on a course because it’s something I’m interested in rather than something which will further my career.
I want to bake a sticky chocolate cake instead of a batch of healthy bran and apricot muffins.
I want to drink a glass of wine with friends instead of networking with useful contacts.
I want to stay up late on a ‘school night’.
I want to try something out at work without being sure of its potential return on investment.
I want to create something just for the joy of being creative.

How about you?

Do you want to leave the office on time tonight?
Do you want to be assertive sometimes?
Do you want to buy something for dinner instead of cooking from scratch?
Do you want to throw away those shoes which really aren’t very comfortable but were expensive so you’d better keep on wearing them until they wear out?
Do you want to give away something to your most loyal customers just to say ‘thanks’ without tying them in to buying more stuff from you?
Do you want to try something new even though you know you won’t be perfect at it?
Do you want to take 30 minutes out of your day to just ‘be’?

Today’s pebble for you to consider:
If you were going to grant yourself permission to do just one thing this week, what would it be?

What do you think?
Michelle

Turning over pebbles is the blog of Thinking Space Coaching. 

If you’d like to make progress in your work and life, why not email me to see how we can work together?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Permission granted

  1. Pingback: Making allowances | Turning over pebbles

Leave a Reply

