Had medical. Am human.

The title of this post is taken from the diary of a teenager who was kind enough to share it with me. Even as I typed it, it made me laugh out loud. There are no other words in that day’s entry: was the writer being ironic,  expressing relief at being found to be human or secret disappointment?

Since I’ve been coaching, I’ve become more aware of the need to notice my day. Are there things that you wish you could remember? Your favourite meal as a child? The name of the art teacher who really inspired you? The details of the first concert you went to? How you celebrated your sixteenth birthday? The funny thing your child said the other day?

I’ve mentioned before that I keep a diary. Unlike Oscar Wilde, my diary isn’t so sensational that it would make entertaining reading whilst on a journey, but it does allow me to capture a scribbled snapshot of my day.

Rather than overwhelm myself with the gaping white expanse of a desk diary, I have an A6 notebook with half a page for each day. It takes me about five minutes to jot down three or four sentences about my day and my mental prompts for what I want to record are:

• what’s gone well?

• what could have gone better?

• what do I want to remember?

I want to hold on to the memory of the long walk down the beach; the meeting that went so much better than I’d anticipated; the amazing tasting menu created for me; the lessons I learnt on a training day; the name of the piece of music which grabbed my attention on the drive home – pretty much anything which will remind me of ‘now’.

Five minutes to capture twenty-four hours: it’s manageable, it’s worthwhile, fun, and gives me a feeling of progress.

I doubt I’ll ever beat ‘Had Medical. Am human.’ though.

Today’s pebble for you to consider: how do you reflect on your day and keep track of your memories?

I’d love to hear from you,

Michelle

Turning over pebbles is the blog of Thinking Space Coaching. 

If you’d like to make progress in your work and life, why not email me to see how we can work together?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

