Three little words

January – the month named after the two-faced Roman god, Janus – is upon us. According to mythology, Janus is the god of gates, doors, beginnings and endings. Having one face facing back into the past year and one facing forward into the New Year, Janus is an appropriate image for us to consider at this time.

As we walk through the doorway from one year into the next, it’s an obvious time for us to reflect on what has been and to look forward to what may be. For a couple of years now, I’ve been keeping a daily diary and have been dipping into it recently to recall 2010. When I opened my diary on our snowy Boxing Day, I laughed to see that I had already written ‘turn back six months to remind yourself what it was like to have hot weather’ – there it was: 26 June was such a hot day that we’d spent all day outside, swinging in the hammock and cooking our meals over a campfire. What a lovely thought!

Looking back over the year, it became apparent that some themes were emerging. In the first half of the year, lots of time was spent preparing for my husband’s trip to Mont Blanc – training hikes (yes, I went on those too); health & nutrition; practical details. There were other challenges too – professionally as I began to stretch my wings and extend my coaching practice; creatively as I started to write this blog. It was a year in which new friendships were formed and older ones were strengthened.

So if I were to distil the year into three words, I think I’d go for:

Preparation

Challenge

Friends

That made me wonder what I’d like to be saying this time next year about 2011: how about

Community?

Abundance?

Creativity?

Three little words: three big concepts. Sounds like fun to me.

So today’s pebble for you to turn over and contemplate:

What three words sum up for 2010 for you?

What three words would you like to describe your 2011?

What do you think?

Michelle

Turning over pebbles is the blog of Thinking Space Coaching. 

If you’d like to make progress in your work and life, why not email me to see how we could work together?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Three little words

  1. R says:

    Thanks for keeping up such an interesting and inspiring blog – I found I was really looking forward to the next installment today :o)

    Only 3 words – quite a challenge! Personally, 2010 was a better year than 2009 but I still look back on it not knowing where it went and thinking that in many areas I haven’t moved forward at all in 12 months. The one constant has been friends and their support, which I hope I have reciprocated but I could have been better. So, sorry to be a little depressing but my 3 words for 2010 would be:

    Treadmill (is that cheating? More of an object than a word!)
    Stagnent
    Friendships (sorry to steal yours, although this is positive phew!)

    Towards the end of 2010 I realised that only I could change the way things are for myself going forward, and more importantly that I wanted to make the changes, so I made the decision to do something challenging to break myself out of old routines and hopefully set myself back on the right course. For 2011 the 3 words I would like to look forward to, will be:

    Strength?
    New Experiences?
    Relationships?

    Wish me luck!! Thanks Michelle

  2. Pingback: SMART or STUPID? | Turning over pebbles

  3. Pingback: Seven thoughts in seven days | Turning over pebbles

  4. Pingback: Creating yourself … the continuing story | Turning over pebbles

  5. Pingback: How to make 2015 your best year yet | Turning over pebbles

  6. Pingback: Looking for an epiphany? | Turning over pebbles

  7. Pingback: SMART or STUPID? | Turning over pebbles

Leave a Reply

