Do-be-do-be-do, be-do-be-do-be

Whilst that may look like something Frank Sinatra would sing*, it’s actually representative of a debate that often goes on in my head. You may recall in my last post, I referred in passing to the tension of ‘being versus doing’: since then, it’s been on my mind.

As we are now well and truly into the festive season, many of us have a few days off in store. Rather than asking myself ‘what will I do over Christmas?’, I’m trying to ask myself ‘who or what will I be?’

Examples that instantly spring to mind are those based on familial relationships: I want to make sure I’m being a good wife, a good daughter, a good sister and a good friend. I want to be kind, generous, gracious, aware of others and their needs and expectations. I want to be someone who enjoys herself and the opportunity to spend time with others. I want to be someone who reflects and celebrates 2010 whilst looking forward to 2011.

One thing I absolutely want to be is ‘present’. I want to be fully engaged with whomever I’m spending time and in whatever we’re doing.

How about you?

Today’s pebble is this:

Who or what do you want to be this Christmas holiday?

I am going to take a couple of weeks off from the blog over the holiday so I would like to take this opportunity to wish you a very Merry Christmas and a peaceful and prosperous New Year,

Michelle

*first two lines of ‘Strangers in the Night’, in case you were wondering: a frequent earworm of mine.

Turning over pebbles is the blog of Thinking Space Coaching. 

If you’d like to make progress in your work and life, why not email me to see how we could work together?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

