‘I work all night, I work all day’

….‘To pay the bills I have to pay’ sang Abba.

Is that how you feel? Are your career choices determined by your budget?

It seems we start thinking about our careers from a very early age: social conditioning perhaps? Do we focus on what we will do rather than who we will be? Maybe that’s a subject for another day.

Having watched the Olympics as a child, I wanted to be a gymnast. As I got older, my goal was to present Blue Peter: I used to record myself ‘presenting’ on my little tape recorder (thankfully video recorders weren’t around then!). In my teens, forensic science occupied my thoughts for a while. (Were all my career aspirations influenced by TV programmes?!)

Later on, I made academic choices which I thought would lead me down a very different path to the one on which I have ended up. Still later, other choices determined where I am now. It’s funny how things work out.

For most of us, salary is an important consideration when we select a career path.               Before you realised the necessity of taking that into account, what did you dream of doing? What would you do now if you could?

Today’s pebble for you to consider:

If money were no object, what would you choose to do?

Any thoughts?

Michelle

Turning over pebbles is the blog of Thinking Space Coaching. 

If you’d like to make progress in your work and life, why not email me to see how we could work together?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ‘I work all night, I work all day’

  1. Pingback: Do-be-do-be-do, be-do-be-do-be | Turning over pebbles

Leave a Reply

