Turning over a new leaf

There’s definitely an Autumnal feel in the air and I’m noticing touches of gold and bronze on the trees in the garden. Somehow I always feel that Autumn is a more appropriate time for resolutions than New Year: perhaps I’m clinging on to the vestiges of academic life and so it’s a ‘start of the new school year’ thing. I certainly used to love receiving new exercise books, all crisp and clean, just waiting to filled with new knowledge. Call me a geek but that sense of anticipation and excitement at the thought of learning and new experiences has never left me.

So when the calendar moves on to September and I see the children in their ever-so-slightly-too-big new uniforms setting off to school, I have that sense of wanting to make progress. I’m starting to draw up lists of projects I’d like to work on, books I’d like to read, places I’d like to go and people I want to see. Instead of new protractors, pencils and plimsolls, I want to buy maps, books and new kit.

Like the pristine pages of a new exercise book, the next few months are inviting me to fill them with good ‘stuff’.

I love the research part of this ‘Autumn resolution’ experience: I’m less good at the ‘narrowing it down and deciding what to actually do next’ bit! So in the somewhat scary spirit of accountability, I’m going to tell you some of my non-work plans for this ‘new term’. Feel free to check back with me re my progress!

  • I am going to conquer my fear of cooking fish by cooking at least 3 different fish recipes by the end of 2010.
  • Rather than relying on email or phone, I’m going to take out some beautiful stationery, dust off my fountain pen and write some letters to family and friends.
  • I am going to brush up my French by reading two novels in French by the end of this year.

There are more ideas in the pipeline but that’s enough for now.

Today’s pebble for you to consider: What Autumn resolution can you make?

Over to you,
Michelle

Turning over pebbles is the blog of Thinking Space Coaching. 

If you’d like to make progress in your work and life, why not email me to see how we could work together?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Turning over a new leaf

  1. Eemia Snikpoh says:

    Mine would be the usual!
    ~ Study harder to complete my exams, with the aim of having a life again by March 2011.
    ~ Lose 10lb by Christmas so I can wear a great dress to the Xmas party and then eat as much as I like during the holidays…..
    ~ Save as many pennies as possible…..for lots of different reasons.
    ~ Actually get around to planting some flowers in spring 2011 to make my house look prettier!

Leave a Reply

