Time flies like an arrow

(Hands up who’s thinking ‘fruit flies like a banana’!)

Until Doc Brown gets that DeLorean  time machine into mass production, we’re never going to get the chance to go back to the future. For us at least, time will remain linear – once it’s gone, it’s gone. Compared to most of the world’s population, many of us would be described as ‘cash rich, time poor’ so how do we make the most of every minute?

One way is to be fully conscious of the moment – ‘present in the present’, you might say. Last week’s blog talked about noticing: that’s a good way of anchoring ourselves in the moment. If we notice what’s going on around us, we have something that accounts for the time spent. It’s interesting that we talk about time in that way – to ‘spend’ time. If time were a physical commodity that we actually had to hand over, would we be more conscious of what we did with it? Would there be comparison websites where we’d evaluate one way of passing time against another? Would we shop around to get the best value for our time?

What if this Saturday I stacked twelve £1 coins in front of me and used them to budget the next twelve hours? I’d probably choose to hand over £3 to spend hours going for a walk with my husband; I might feel like £1 was a good investment for cooking a delicious dinner and I’d happily hand over £2 for a couple of hours in the garden with a good book and a glass of something chilled. I wonder what I’d do with the rest. It would be really interesting at the end of the day to review how I spent that money – and that time – and to see if it made me more conscious about making every minute count.

This week’s pebble for you to contemplate:

What will you do to make the most of every moment this week?

Over to you,

Michelle

Turning over pebbles is the blog of Thinking Space Coaching. 

If you’d like to make progress in your work and life, why not email me to see how we could work together?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Time flies like an arrow

  1. Liza says:

    Ah ha my pet passion… “making something count.” I’d say that none of us get up in the morning and consciously decide to spend our day going about things half heartedly. Far from it probably, but do we ever really and truely make our time count – probably not. I recently started going to a bootcamp class at 6.30am during which time I encountered every element including the snow. Probably for the first time I can remember I consciously decided to make it count, because I certainly hadn’t got up at ridiculous oclock not to! This spurred me to try and make more effort with other elements of my life – and boy do I notice the difference when I do. Its easy to become bogged down in things, but I’m with Michelle – just try really consuming the moment and see what happens – the results will speak for themselves.

  2. Pingback: I’m going to sit right down and write myself a letter | Turning over pebbles

  3. Pingback: The noble art of leaving things undone | Turning over pebbles

  4. Pingback: Another handful of productivity pointers | Turning over pebbles

  5. Pingback: How can we feel fully alive? | Turning over pebbles

  6. Pingback: What would you do with an extra day? | Turning over pebbles

Leave a Reply

