Why ‘Turning over pebbles’?

Have you ever walked along a pebbly beach or a stony mountain track and suddenly noticed one particular pebble? You stop, pick it up, examine it, turning it over, weighing it up. Is it particularly smooth? A different colour to the others? Is it a gleaming white piece of quartz or a razor-sharp flint? Has the sea worn away its edges? Has the ice split it from a larger rock? What made you notice it? Did you skim it across the water’s surface? Did you replace it for someone else to find? Did you slip it into your pocket as a reminder of this day?

Questions are like pebbles. Some we don’t even really notice – which socks shall I wear today? Toast or cereal? Some niggly little ones get stuck in our metaphorical shoes and really irritate us – why did I choose this queue? Did I lock the back door? Others are huge boulders in our path: we must go over them or round them or turn back – where should I live? Shall I take that job? Will we have children? Still others are those I talked about earlier – they stand out from the other pebbles, ask to be noticed and examined, weighed up. So I stand there, midst journey, turning over the pebble.

Today’s pebble is: what am I putting off?

I have been putting this off: the very act of putting my words down in black and white to share with you. Having halted on this journey, turning over this pebble, for long enough now, it’s time to act – I’m taking the plunge and starting this blog.

Now I want to call out to you, to hand you the pebble and give you the chance to stop and notice it, to consider it, to turn it over.

Today’s pebble for your thoughts: what are you putting off?

Michelle

Turning over pebbles is the blog of Thinking Space Coaching. 

If you’d like to make progress in your work and life, why not email me to see how we could work together?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Why ‘Turning over pebbles’?

  1. Thought provoking blog…thank you! I found myself ‘putting off’ writing the list of things I have been putting off! However having finally completed the list for now & even crossing a few tasks already I’m finding a slight weight of my shoulders that I didn’t really know was there.

    Will be recommend ‘Turning Over Pebbles’ to my friends & family. Looking forward to your next blog!

  2. Jean Breeze says:

    Your Pebble blog made me realise I haven’t had a holiday or even gone for a walk on a beach, in 5 years. I have been putting off doing my accounts, which I will do at the end of this week. Like Rebecca I have also been putting off doing my ‘To Do’ list which I will be doing today.
    Keep them coming!
    Jean

    • Jean, lovely to hear from you. Well done in advance for getting that ‘to do’ list sorted and doing your accounts later this week. Is a walk on the beach an option any time soon?
      Michelle

  3. Hmm, for me it would be writing for my own website and pitching for freelance work. Interesting article and cool website, I’ll definitely be back to check out your latest articles. Cheers!

  4. Pingback: Like ripples on a pond | Turning over pebbles

Leave a Reply

